Jack White Acoustic Recordings: 1998-2016

On 9 September, Jack White will release a 26-track double-LP and double CD of album tracks, B sides, remixes, alternate versions, and previously unreleased recordings from The White Stripes and The Raconteurs as well as some of his solo material.


The 26 tracks featured on Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016 were remastered by Andrew Mendelson at Nashville, Tennessee’s Georgetown Masters.

Arranged in chronological order, the album includes acoustic songs made famous by The White Stripes, beginning with ‘Sugar Never Tasted So Good’ (originally found on The White Stripes’ second-ever 7-inch single) and then lighting upon favourites like ‘Apple Blossom’ and ‘I’m Bound To Pack It Up’ (remixed here from the original recordings on 2000’s De Stijl), ‘Hotel Yorba’ and ‘We’re Going To Be Friends’ (from 2001’s White Blood Cells), ‘You’ve Got Her In Your Pocket’ and ‘Well It’s True That We Love One Another’ (from 2003’s GRAMMY® Award-winning Elephant), ‘Forever For Her (Is Over For Me),’ ‘White Moon’ and ‘As Ugly As I Seem’ (from 2005’s Get Behind Me Satan) ‘Effect & Cause’ (from 2007’s Icky Thump), and the Beck-produced ‘Honey, We Can’t Afford To Look This Cheap,’ first found on the B-side to The White Stripes’ final single, 2007’s‘Conquest.’


All songs were written and produced exclusively by Jack White, except ‘Never Far Away’ (produced by T Bone Burnett), ‘Honey, We Can’t Afford To Look This Cheap’ (produced by Beck), ‘Top Yourself (Bluegrass Version)’ and‘Carolina Drama’ (written & produced by White & Brendan Benson), and ‘Machine Gun Silhouette’ (written by White & Rob Jones).

The new single ‘City Lights’ was originally written for The White Stripes’ Get Behind Me Satan but was forgotten until White revisited the 2005 album for Third Man’s Record Store Day 2015 vinyl reissue. He finished the recording in 2016. The track is the first new, worldwide commercially released White Stripes song since 2008. Listen here:


Shop Shop:

  • Preview the record here.
  • Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016 is available for pre-order now.
  • All digital pre-orders will receive an instant grat download of the previously unreleased White Stripes track ‘City Lights’.
  • The complete Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016 track listing is available here.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.